Looking for Career Advice

laughing_manlaughing_man Member Posts: 84 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am looking for some long range career advice. Currently I work as a security analyst and make in the high 50s. I have a liberal arts bachelors and a lib arts masters. I have always been technical, and worked odd ball IT jobs for some time. I got my current position due to my sys admin experience in academia. Also my employer was looking for a relative neophyte to security, so they could be molded to the type of work we do better.

Part of my continued employment was contigent on my passing of the GSEC before my 2 year mark, just to show that their trust in my technical aptitude was not misplaced. I passed the GSEC with a 94% last March. I am also in talks with my boss to pursue other certs, namely the GCIH and SSCP. My employer also requires I attain CISSP by 6 years of employment.

I love my job and all the hands on learning. InfoSec is really a great field to be in. My only complaints about my job is that I don't get my hands dirty with networking. I don't manage a firewall and do not get experience with any networking equipment, mainly because a separate group handles that stuff. I want to become a more well rounded InfoSec guy who really knows the ins and outs of enterprise level networks. I have thought of doing certs in that direction, but a cert without real world experience has limited value. I mainly handle email filters, internet usage logs, Nessus scanning and SIEM management.

My ultimate goal is to expand my knowledge, commensurate with that of most experienced InfoSec professionals, who typically have a more diverse IT background than I do. Also a bigger salary would be nice too. :)

Comments

• paul78paul78 Member Posts: 3,016 ■■■■■■■■■■
    It sounds like you have an employer that is willing to invest to nurture the careers of their employees. That management culture can be very valuable if you are interested in growing with your current employer.