few questions about CISSP preperation

kettanehkettaneh Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I am a new member in this great forum. I am planning to be CISSP certified (within 2-4 months from now) and I have some questions and need some tips/advices.

-I am studying from Shon Harris AIO fifth edition, should I get the 6th edition or 5th is okay ?
- Is shon Harris book enough to pass the exam ? (plus giving some trial exams while preparing)
- Do you recommend me alternative book for CISSP ?
- How many time I can write the exam ?
- What do you think about Shon Harris 2007 CISSP videos ?
- Any other tips/advices from you ?

- I should get official letter (signed and stamped) from the companies I worked for saying that I have experience in xyz before writing the exam, correct ?

Last word, I would like to inform you that I was security+ certified few years back and security is a major part of my daily work. I am PMP, ccna security certified.

Thanks

Comments

• Jake007Jake007 Member Posts: 65 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Kettaneh,

Well first let me welcome you to the forum and i hope you learn alot, couple of things for you. I will try to answer them in the order of your asking.

First: Try and make your time frame 4 months or later; 2 months is a bit to short im thinking even knowing you have your other certs.

Second: The Fifth Edition book by Shon Harris is fine, The 6th edition is not going to make a difference. (More to come one this in a bit)

Third: There is NOT one book that will help you pass the test, but SEVERAL books, Test Banks and review questions. Shon book is just one of many that will assit in this effort but NOT the all to end all.

Fourth: Do you recommend me alternative book for CISSP ? Test banks, Eric Conrad, Harold Tipton

Fifth: How many time I can write the exam ? 3 times within the same calendar year.