Passed CISSP Exam on first attempt (24 Jan 2013)

moyondizvomoyondizvo Member Posts: 155
icon_cheers.gifI PASSED THE CISSP EXAM ON MY FIRST ATTEMPTicon_cheers.gif.

First and foremost, I would like to thank God for giving me the wisdom he has granted me to be able to tackle this beast of an exam. Big thanks to my wife for putting up with me whilst I studied, I know that the time away was hard for her (we newly weds :D). Anyway let me not waste much time and get to the good stuff:

- CISSP All-in-one Exam Guide (5th Edition) - Shon Harris - This was my main resource. I know that a lot of people on Techexams have slammed Shon Harris for being too verbose, but I found this resource the best "for me" because the verbosity gave me the background to understand the topics that were introduced and covered.

- CISSP Study Guide (2nd Edition) - Eric Conrad - In "my opinion", this resource is good if you already have the grounding of the topics or domains that you are studying or someone who already has extensive industry experience in multiple domains. When I didn't understand something from the Shon Harris book, I used this as a reference. I also used this a lot towards the exam as it drilled down right into the topics.

- Official (ISC)2 Guide to the CISSP CBK(2nd Edition) - I only used this book for about 3 domains and "I" found it dry, but it's a good book.

- Shon Harris Mp3s - I know that my approach may have been an overkill here and there, but it got me to pass right??? :) . Basically I love music, like everywhere were I am, I am always listening to music. The CISSP exam was very important to me and needed to pass it. So I wiped all music from my iPhone and added these Mp3s. On the bus to work, in the gym, to the mall, I would be listening to the Mp3s. I was rotating between the books and the Mp3s. What I found useful in this respect was to first read the books and then listen to the Mp3s.