Sitting the 70-461 tomorrow morning (01/22/2013)

tycoonbobtycoonbob Member Posts: 81 ■■□□□□□□□□
Just thought I'd share my experience.

I have been studying for the past 2 weeks for this exam, using MSDN and the CBT Nugget series, using SQL Server 2012 SP1 Express Edition.

I sit the test tomorrow, and hope I have what it takes to pass! I have no DBA experience, and my only experience with SQL prior to this has been through exposure of creating custom reports for SCCM/SCOM, which mainly consisted of the SELECT, WHERE, ORDER BY, and AS statements, as well as some experience with Subselect queries.

Wish me luck!

Comments

• EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
    You'll do just fine mate. Post back on how you go!
    NSX, NSX, more NSX..

Blog >> http://virtual10.com
  • josicojosico Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
    How did it go? I'm going to have my exam this Sunday! I'd like to hear how it is.
    2013 Goals:
    MCSA: SQL Server [X] 70-461 [X] 70-762 [ ] 70-763
  • EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Sunday really? I've never heard of a center being open on Sunday, where's this? Good luck BTW!
    NSX, NSX, more NSX..

Blog >> http://virtual10.com
    Downtown Vancouver, BC. :)

EDIT: You had me second guessing myself, but yes I just checked my confirmation email:

Appointment Date: 27 JAN 2013
    Appointment Time: 13:00:00
    2013 Goals:
  • tycoonbobtycoonbob Member Posts: 81 ■■□□□□□□□□
    First exam failure of the year. 625/1000. icon_sad.gif

Lots of queries, and a few drag and drops that really got me. I need to do a lot more studying on topics such as performance enhancements (indexes, etc) and items such as UDFs, Triggers, and a few other things.
    Oh no! I'm sorry to hear that. Did you purchase the exam with the second shot option?

Also, I'm a bit confused by the drag and drop questions you mentioned. Could you elaborate a bit on it?

Thanks in advance!
    2013 Goals: