CCNA Composite or Separate?

Sounds GoodSounds Good Member Posts: 403
Well I've been studying for the CCENT/CCNA for about 20 days. I've watched all of the CCENT videos from CBT Nuggets and I'm currently studying CCNA Study Guide 7th ed. by Todd Lammle.

The chapters outlined for ICND1 from the book goes as follows: 1,2,3,4,6,7,8,10,12,14,16

The chapters outlined for ICND2 from the book goes as follows: 5,6,7,9,11,12,13,14,15,16

So obviously there is a lot of overlap. But from ICND1 to ICND2, there is only 5 more chapters to cover. 5,9,11,13,15

Here are the table of contents

Chapter 1 Internetworking 1
Chapter 2 Review of Ethernet Networking and Data Encapsulation 41
Chapter 3 Introduction to TCP/IP 83
Chapter 4 Easy Subnetting 135
Chapter 5 Variable Length Subnet Masks (VLSMs), Summarization, and Troubleshooting TCP/IP 175
Chapter 6 Cisco’s Internetworking Operating System (IOS) 205
Chapter 7 Managing a Cisco Internetwork 277
Chapter 8 IP Routing 345
Chapter 9 Enhanced IGRP (EIGRP) and Open Shortest Path First (OSPF) 427
Chapter 10 Layer 2 Switching and Spanning Tree Protocol (STP) 503
Chapter 11 Virtual LANs (VLANs) 557
Chapter 12 Security 607
Chapter 13 Network Address Translation (NAT) 655
Chapter 14 Cisco’s Wireless Technologies 683
Chapter 15 Internet Protocol Version 6 (IPv6) 715
Chapter 16 Wide Area Networks 741

So the topics I would have to study for after CCENT are:

VLSM
EIGROP/OSPF
VLANs
NAT
IPv6

Would I be better off just studying the rest of the chapters and taking the composite or should I take ICND1 and 2 separately? I'd much rather sit one test that covers (a little bit of) everything than take 2 exams that go more in depth on half and half.

I know this is ultimately up to my preference, but I'd like to hear what people who have taken both Composite and Separately think. So please share your thoughts and suggestions on this.

Thank You

SG
On the plate: AWS Solutions Architect - Professional
Scheduled for: Unscheduled