Options

Dillemma on what to do next

vr2312vr2312 Member Posts: 12 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello All

I have been working in the Information Security Domain for the past 2 years.

I have attained the following certifications :

CCNA
ITIL V3.0

Earlier i was working in Security Operations Center and now i am developing content for SIEM.

Please help me out on what i should do next ?
Don't be complacent.

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Comments

• Options
    dbrinkdbrink Member Posts: 180
    This is a pretty wide open question, especially with how broad the IT Security industry is. What are your interests?
    Currently Reading: Learn Python The Hard Way
    http://defendyoursystems.blogspot.com/
  • Options
    I have no specific interest.

I don't have a target on what i will be working on. All i want to do is learn, share and lead.

Is it possible to have a specific interest ? I have tried unsuccessfully.

Please advise if there is any methodology to find an end point in finding the specific interest.
    Don't be complacent.

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  • Options
    lsud00dlsud00d Member Posts: 1,571
    In accordance with the CISSP, which of these 10 domains gets you excited?

Access control
    Telecommunications and network security
    Information security governance and risk management
    Software development security
    Cryptography
    Security architecture and design
    Operations security
    Business continuity and disaster recovery planning
    Legal, regulations, investigations and compliance
    Physical (environmental) security

If you want more info on these, check out this article: Build Your Skills: Learn these 10 security domains to obtain CISSP certification | TechRepublic

Once you go through them all it can help you narrow your search.
  • Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,027 Admin
    For the short term, I would suggest going through the training offered by your SIEM provider and getting any certification(s) it offers.
  • Options
    JDMurray wrote: »