what to look for in CCENT/CCNA home lab builds

monorionmonorion Member Posts: 90 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,

I just have a few quick questions, after reading some forum post I have decided for my CCNA journey to invest in a home lab setup!! my main question is what am I looking or when buying routers/switches? I think im set on buying 2x 2150 routers and 2x 2950 switches is that enough?

For the routers whats a good iOS version? on certificationkits.com they list 2150 16/16 routers what is that? also is that a good site to buy from?

I was looking at this kit CertificationKits is this a ripoff?

Thank you for your help as i am still a noob when it comes to cisco(not for long at least)

please leave feedback and/or advice

Thank you,
Monorion

Comments

• RoguetadhgRoguetadhg Member Posts: 2,489 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Generally ebay kits are cheapo kits - Lots of horror stories of things not working. I would say that the online retailers would be more reputable. I delt with CertKits before for my router memory and flash upgrades, they were heck of a lot better there than the ebay dealings.

As far as what to look for - Make sure they power on! Green ports, not amber (orange) is a good way to tell. Make sure to get the IOS version, Hardware information from a "show ver" if possible. Spend a little more for knowing what you'll get. Otherwise, you may need to spend a good while of upgrading... which to say isn't a bad thing. It's experience. But still it's a hassle.
    In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure.
    TE Threads: How to study for the CCENT/CCNA, Introduction to Cisco Exams

• TehToGTehToG Member Posts: 194
    If I were you I'd go for 2600XM routers. They can run the 12.4 IOS which is the required IOS for the CCNA exam. If you want them fast buying a kit is alright. It also gives you some sort of warranty. I got my kit singularly off ebay but it took around 6 months.