Too old ?

den1966den1966 Member Posts: 46 ■■□□□□□□□□
At 46 to be starting out in IT.
I've always had an intrest in computers and find them fascinating.
I'm currently studying for the A+ and really enjoying it , I'm a carpenter by trade and I'm fed up to the teeth with it and really need a change ... What does the board say?
I'm living in Ireland by the way ..

Comments

• danny069danny069 Member Posts: 1,025 ■■■■□□□□□□
    You're never too old, if it interests you then go for it, the sky is the limit in this field, especially network/IT security (which I am currently studying for)
    I am a Jack of all trades, Master of None
  • Mrock4Mrock4 Banned Posts: 2,359 ■■■■■■■■□□
    There's 50+ year olds starting to become DOCTORS..so I am fairly confident 46 is not too old to start in IT. Good luck to you!
  • DarrilDarril Member Posts: 1,588
    Welcome to the forums.

I agree with others, you're never too old to move into something new. I've taught many classes with students that were changing careers and many of the students were around your age. Age certainly won't stop you from learning. The challenge is that a career changer often starts with entry level IT jobs. This makes sense for someone young but can sometimes represent a pay cut for a trade professional.

Good luck.
  • IvanjamIvanjam Member Posts: 978 ■■■■□□□□□□
    @den1966 - I am 46 too and just started the switch to IT, so go for it, my friend! icon_thumright.gif
    Fall 2014: Start MA in Mathematics [X]
    Fall 2016: Start PhD in Mathematics [X]
  • JasminLandryJasminLandry Member Posts: 601 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Age doesn't matter in IT. I'm only 21 and I had a classmate at college who was about your age, probably even older (only had white hair) and you know what, he was one of the best students of the class. He eventually got a CCNA and a good job. So it's never too late to get in the IT field.
  • den1966den1966 Member Posts: 46 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Thanks for your kind words folks.