4 yrs Degrees

monkey1300monkey1300 Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi, I am new to this forum and I am new to IT.

I am currently major in Network Administratar and Network Engineer, which are only a 2 yrs degree. I was wondering is there any 4 yrs degree for Networking? I searched around all the University around the area I lived, but none of them offer anything like that.

Thanks

Comments

• garv221garv221 Member Posts: 1,914
    Universities have picked up alot more 4 yr. networking programs in the last 3-4 years. Where do you live?
  • monkey1300monkey1300 Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Sacramento, CA
  • int80hint80h Member Posts: 84 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Networking is neither broad enough or complicated enough to facilitate a 4 year degree. If you want a 4 year degree you'll have to go into EE, CompE, CS, etc.
  • sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    int80h wrote:
    Networking is neither broad enough or complicated enough to facilitate a 4 year degree. If you want a 4 year degree you'll have to go into something more broad.

I have to respectfully disagree. There are plenty of schools offering 4 year degrees in Comp Sci with a Netwoking emphasis, just as there are many Comp Sci degrees with a Programming emphasis. Not complicated enough? My friend, there is more to networking than Cat5, OSI and ping. If you think it's not complicated enough than go take the CCIE exam and start making 6 figures tomorrow. Seriously, there are indeed many sub-specialties in networking. How about a 4-year degree in Information System Security? That's just a piece of the networking pie of which there are many speciality tracks.

Maybe its just the semantics. When he says "networking" I think "System Administration". Maybe I misunderstood the topic?

Mark
    All things are possible, only believe.
  • rarossraross Member Posts: 48 ■■□□□□□□□□
    int80h wrote: