Options

Microsoft DBA path

tcert009tcert009 Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone:

I am considering to earn a certificate in database administrator. I have some questions regards the certification and career outlook.
Please give me some suggestions.

My background is in IT, I have some basic programming experience (PHP, HTML, CSS, JavaScript) and I want to get started in DBA path. I know basic SQL and I have used Mysql workbench at work to do some queries.

My Location: Austin, TX

1. Which certificate should I start with?
1a. I did some search myself, it seems like I should start with MCST: MS SQL server 2008 exam series

1b. Should I start with MS SQL server 2008 or MS SQL Server 2012? Or it is like I pass one exam, then I should have good understanding on the other server as well.

1c. Where can I download a free version of MS SQL server program to do self-study?

2. how long does it take for a average person to complete the certification program?
I am working full time, so I will do it in evening or on the weekends.

3. Could you recommend some good certification resources (online or instructor lead programs)?

3a. Please share with me some good online knowledge bases for MS SQL server learning.

3b. Please give me some feedback on these training programs. Are they good and worth to investigate money and time ?
Quick Cert Program: http://www.quickcert.com/
Horizon training: Microsoft Certification: MCITP: Windows Server 2008 Administrator - New Horizons Computer Learning Centers

For Career outlook
1.What is the outlook for MS SQL server DBA for a person like me doesn't have practical experience?

2. I saw somewhere online that Microsoft SQL Server 2008, Database Development will be retired in 7-2013, will the certification still valued by the employers?

3. Does Oracle certificated DBA have a better chance to get employed in the current economy?

Comments

• Options
    RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Member Posts: 4,299 ■■■■■■■■■■