How do I put preparing a certification on one's resume?

S1lentPh3nomS1lentPh3nom Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys,

I'm currently studying for my CCNA, I'm going the ICND1/2 route. I'm also a senior in college applying for jobs. I plan on taking my exams in March/April respectively, and I feel confident about passing them since I've seen the material quite a bit during my time in college and during my self studies.

I am currently applying for jobs for after my graduation and I want to make myself more marketable. How do I list that I am currently pursuing my CCNA on my resume?

Any help would be appreciated,

Thank You

Comments

• TehToGTehToG Member Posts: 194
    I'm a Final year student in the UK and I've asked this question before (to other professionals that is). This is an answer based on their experience.

If you have a Cert, put it on your resume. If you don't have it then leave it off. You CAN however bring up the knowledge in an interview. If questioned on it you CAN say 'Well I'm currently studying for....' but never write that on a resume.
  • kj0kj0 Member Posts: 767
    I usually put it on my resume, but i state that I am active. So when I put down the years I graduated high school and what not. I will like:

High School: 2007
    MCITP: 2012 - Present

So far it's been really beneficial to me doing that way. It is a bit of a conversational start. But if you haven't got any of the cert, not even a test booked, probably not worth it.
    2017 Goals: VCP6-DCV | VCIX
    Blog: https://readysetvirtual.wordpress.com
  • Mrock4Mrock4 Banned Posts: 2,359 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I ALWAYS list certs I'm working on in my resume, and I seem to *always* be asked about them during interviews, so that's a good thing. I usually list them as such:

Certifications:

-CCNA
    -CCNP
    -CCXX (In-progress, exam scheduled for X/X/XXXX)