New to forum need som help

shyguyITshyguyIT Member Posts: 380
Hello all!

A little about myself, I have a BS in Information Technology but no prior work experience in IT. I am finding it difficult to land a desktop support type of job so I decided to start studying in order to get A+ certified.

My question is would my Bachelors and the A+ help me land a job even though I have no prior work experience besides fixing family and friend's computers? And what cert would be good to go after next ? From what I have read on here N+ would be the one I should be shooting for next?

Thanks in advance for any feedback.
2017 Goals:
Route[X], Switch [], TSHOOT[]

Comments

• Michael2Michael2 Member Posts: 305 ■■■□□□□□□□
    You can get a job with no experience, but it will probably be working for a really small company and won't pay very well. That's just to start out, of course.

As far as your next cert, I'm in a similar position and have been considering that myself. I'm halfway done with A+ and I'm already thinking about what to do next. I'm torn between Linux+ and Win 7.
  • shyguyITshyguyIT Member Posts: 380
    That is what I am looking for, just to get some experience under my belt. But it seems that most desktop support jobs want at least 1-2 years of prior experience.

Any reason why you are leaning towards Linux+ and Win 7 instead of the N+? Which seems is what most people on here pursue after their A+.
    2017 Goals:
  • Michael2Michael2 Member Posts: 305 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Eventually, I'll take the ICND 1 + 2. I've read other posts elsewhere that say the Cisco certs are more valuable than the Network+ cert. CompTIA is changing it, though.

In the meantime, I'm considering obtaining one of those others because I think they demonstrate skills that companies value without requiring a high level of security clearance. In other words, I think it'll be easier to get in with a broad range of basic computer skills and certifications.