CCIE material useful at day job?

PsychoFinPsychoFin Member Posts: 280
Hey guys,

So I got into a discussion here at work with the two senior engineers. They are both senior engineers and ooooooold. They are of the opinion that it is not worth their time to do the CCIE because they do not want to study weird things that wouldn't really be possible/allowed in a production environment.

So, just for fun, I thought I'd pose the following questions to all of you:

Do you think that studying the CCIE material would help you do your job better, even though you might never take the exam itself? Would it actually help you in your day-to-day duties of configuring routing, VPNs, MPLS etc, or is the material only applicable to the CCIE exam and lab itself? :)

Now, bear in mind that I am also studying for the CCIE, and I think that the skills learned while studying are applicable to any IP-related job. Obviously, there are some things you'd hardly ever configure in a production network, but the rest of the curriculum is certainly related to any senior IP Engineer's job, is it not?

Interested in your thoughts,

Fin

Comments

• down77down77 Member Posts: 1,009
    Many of the technologies we study may not be used in a particular job, but the level of understanding and the expert troubleshooting skills we garner are worth their weight in gold. Anyone can memorize configuring a particular protocol or technology, but the real value is in the understanding how things interact and what could be affected in other parts of the network when you implement even a 'trivial' change.