Options

time effort for Oracle Certified Associate, Java SE 7 Programmer 1Z0-803

I have no previous knowledge in Java. My only programming skills is Oracle SQL (passed 1Z0-051 SQL Fundamentals I).

What's the time effort for passing Oracle Certified Associate, Java SE 7 Programmer 1Z0-803? From zero to exam? icon_study.gif

Comments

• Options
    longjelongje Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I got this certification back during the summer. It is a really good introductory overview of the language and pretty straightforward; no tricky questions - just know the syntax. I would say starting out you can probably expect 1 - 3 months of study time depending on your learning style. Since you have no experience with Java, I highly recommend starting out with "Head First Java". It gives you a really good overview of the language (some unnecessary, but worth knowing). One forum I tend to use for Java related material including Java related certs is javaranch. I also wrote a blog post on the material and sources that I used for the exam here.
  • Options
    NotHackingYouNotHackingYou Member Posts: 1,460 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Head first Java is a fantstic book and will get you started.
    When you go the extra mile, there's no traffic.
  • Options
    RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Member Posts: 4,299 ■■■■■■■■■■
    From a professional perspective I would also suggest that you look at Head First Design patterns. This won't help you all that much regarding the certification, but it will help you in becoming a good developer. Plus it will be good to just see some additional code.
  • Options
    crashdumpcrashdump Banned Posts: 134
    Thank you longje. 1-3 months in hours?
    Thanks for the hint about Head First Java.
  • Options
    FlemethFlemeth Member Posts: 41 ■■□□□□□□□□