Migration from Server 2003 domain to Server 2012

Hello guys,

I will be migrating a small business' Server 2003 domain to a Server 2012 domain. Its a pretty simple setup with about 10 client pcs, and just one server. But I have no experience with Server 2012 yet, so in that regard I have a few questions. The server will be running Server 2012 standard.

Which antivirus product is usually used in small business enviroments, on server 2012? System Center 2012 Endpoint Protection is probably not suited for such a small domain, where none of the other products in the System Center suite will be necessary.

I can see there are a few options, such as Eset, AVG etc.
Current certs: MCP (210) MCSA (270, 290, 291 and 680) MCTS (680, 640)

Comments

• ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I haven't touched 2012. However, I've migrated from 2000 to 2003, 2008, and 2008 R2, and for small business I've found that the upgrade is generally non-eventful. Follow Microsoft's steps and you should be fine, assuming we're just talking about domain. If you're talking about an SBS server or a server doing much more than domain, it can be more complicated.

Antivirus choices invariably come down to six of one or half a dozen of the other. AVG is good enough, even if it has its problems -- they all do.
    Working B.S., Computer Science
    Complete: 55/120 credits SPAN 201, LIT 100, ETHS 200, AP Lang, MATH 120, WRIT 231, ICS 140, MATH 215, ECON 202, ECON 201, ICS 141, MATH 210, LING 111, ICS 240
    In progress: CLEP US GOV,
    Next up: MATH 211, ECON 352, ICS 340
  • Dracula28Dracula28 Member Posts: 232
    Its more or less just a DC. But its a single domain, single DC setup. And I haven't really done that kind of migrations before. Usually its 2-3 DCS in a single domain enviroments. There you can just demote the old DC, and promote the new server with the same computer name to a DC.