32 and Trying to back into IT

BrashLBrashL Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all, first post.

I've read a lot of posts about older (is it bad I already consider myself older?) people trying to start a fresh career in IT and they have inspired me. I have a bachelor's degree in Computer Information Systems from a good university but got frustrated with my career (3 years primarily in testing) and went way off the reservation to Law school. That got me some debt (OK maybe a lot of debt) and a job I'm even more unhappy with.

I really want to get back into IT and make a career of it, and it seems like given my background that's the best chance I have for a career change. I imagine my experience is pretty useless at this point and I'm hoping some certifications will make me marketable. I feel like I could skip the basic stuff (A+, Network+, etc) based on what I remember from school and kept up with.

Two questions:
1. Does it make sense to skip those certifications and if so, what would be more difficult ones I could check out to gauge whether I should make an attempt?
2. Is there any IT field that would allow me to leverage my legal experience (criminal litigation) in any way?

Thanks, looking forward to some great advice.

Comments

• danstardanstar Member Posts: 136
    To answer the first obvious question, you're not OLD to pave your way into IT.. unless you consider yourself to be. There was this other time I saw some post on techexams, he was 55 and he just got his first job in IT.

And to answer to your listed questions
    1. Yes, it makes sense to skip A+ and Network+ only if you plan to go for CCENT/CCNA. Most of the A+, Network+ (I think) are covered in the CCNA which makes it a bit tough than A+ and Network+.
    2. No, I don't think so. Criminal litigation ? I doubt that.. this is IT. It's a different world entirely

Hope this helps!
    Preparing for CCNA Certification :study:
    Up Next: CCNP
    Onto the Next: CCNA Voice
    And Umm: CCNP Voice