Cisco Systems Customer Support Engineer Salary and Tac

Cubuntu28Cubuntu28 Member Posts: 37 ■■□□□□□□□□
According to glass door Cisco Customer Support Engineers can make up to 148k with proper experience and education (this is the very highest amount listed in all fairness). Does that seem rather high? I believe Cisco Tac Engineers make 6 figures as well, and ideally would have a CCIE. How realistic do these numbers seem?
Cisco Systems Customer Support Engineer Salary | Glassdoor

Does anyone have any experience in these positions, or know someone first hand who does? Lastly do these positions seem obtainable without a Technical Degree (I have a non related Bachelors), but with years of experience and CCNP, or CCIE?

Comments

• DPGDPG Member Posts: 780 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Cisco outsources most of its TAC's (Costa Rica, etc) so I doubt $100k US is the norm.
  • networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Six figures is standard for a good (and by good I don't mean first line support) TAC engineer at one of the major vendors and yes these positions are certainly attainable without a technical degree.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Cubuntu28 wrote: »
    According to glass door Cisco Customer Support Engineers can make up to 148k with proper experience and education
    I've spoken to Cisco TAC recruiters recently, and that salary seems realistic. Cisco tends to pay employees less than their competitors--but they have a solid reputation, stability, and quality benefits to round out their compensation package. Cisco compensates more for higher certifications and technical degrees, as do most employers (when they are backed up with the skill, knowledge, and experience associated with them!)

If you want to know if you're qualified for one of their positions simply apply. :)
  • skinsFan202skinsFan202 Member Posts: 87 ■■■□□□□□□□
    DPG wrote: »