Which MBA?

rpmccormickrpmccormick Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi guys. I am new here, and found this when looking for a WGU referral (please email me if you can refer me, same name here at gmail).

Besides the referral request, I would like opinions on how to best advance my career.

History:
Graduated CalPoly SLO with CPE degree (computer engineering, mix of EE/CS) in 2001.
I worked as a systems engineer on automotive MP3 players and GPS devices for 7 years (pcb, boms, firmware, etc).
I worked as a project manager for HD-Radio reference designs for 1 year (when they laid off 50% of the company).
For the last 5 years I have been self-employed growing an online Hotel Reservation business that I started in college.

Desire:
I miss hardware. My dream job would be working with either a small-start up, or a big player like Google/Apple where I am able to define new products, features, and UI (Apple/Google TV type stuff, or automotive) and instruct programmers under me to do the busy work after I have proven out a system design.

I am thinking an MBA might help (yes/no)?
Which of these should I go for? Or is there something better suited for me I should be looking at?

Thanks for any advice.

Comments

• QuantumstateQuantumstate Member Posts: 192 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Maybe I'm old-fashioned, but this WGU stuff strikes me as flimsey. I know it's accredited, but it can't carry the same weight as an Ivy.

I see hardware jobs at Microsoft every day. Might want to look at a few to see what they're looking for.
  • rpmccormickrpmccormick Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks for the reply. I may check out M$. I almost had a Google Android job years ago, but they ended up promoting internally instead. I did an interview for Apple accessories and failed it miserably (sorry I don't remember every detail of an inductor Apple... that's why datasheets exist!).