IDS vs IPS

glenn_33glenn_33 Member Posts: 113 ■■■□□□□□□□
I'm studying for my Security+ using Darril's book (great read by the way) and I'm reading about IDSs and IPSs...I was wondering why you would install an IDS when they only detect attacks....wouldn't it make more sense to just use an IPS to detect and prevent the attack?
A+/N+/S+/CCNA:RS/CCNA:Sec

Comments

• lsud00dlsud00d Member Posts: 1,571
    They serve somewhat different purposes, have different price-points, and are used in conjunction with other products to do potentially overlapping duties.
  • Node ManNode Man Member Posts: 668 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Im new to all this and may be wrong, but if i remember from ICND1 reading - IDS may be used when the network admin wants to monitor potentially bad packets. In other words, isnt positive the traffic is harmful. Whereas IPS, is more like a firewall and just prevents the traffic.
  • f0rgiv3nf0rgiv3n Member Posts: 598 ■■■■□□□□□□
    IDS is cheap. IPS is expensive.

IDS is easy to install, it can be "off to the side" plugged into a port on a switch that's mirroring all traffic.
    IPS is more difficult because it is more often installed "in-line" which requires downtime.

IPS can also present more risk because it will be "automagically" manipulating/blocking traffic based on its definitions. Some peoples' networks cannot have that happen with the risk of false positives occurring.

Those are the biggest reasons that come to my mind.
  • bobloblawbobloblaw Member Posts: 228
  • glenn_33glenn_33 Member Posts: 113 ■■■□□□□□□□
    icon_thumright.gif clears things up a bit! thanks guys!!
    A+/N+/S+/CCNA:RS/CCNA:Sec
  • docricedocrice Member Posts: 1,706 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I could talk about this all day. Here's my short version: