SVI'S/HSRP/VLAN Design question

subspace3subspace3 Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□

Hi all, I'm currently studying CCNA, and have some questions about some CCNP concepts, hopefully you guys can help shed some light.
I'm writing about the design above and need some clarification on SVI's and HSRP. Currently all I've learn about is the router on a stick method and subinterfaces for inter VLAN routing. With the design above, there are 3 user departments which I've decided to use separate VLAN's on each of the access switches and hence separate subnets as I was thinking if the same 3 subnets for the departments where spread across all the access switches, this would cause problems with inter VLAN routing, have I got this right?

Secondly, I've decided on the left distro switch (multilayer switch) to be the stp root for vlans 1-6 and the right distro as the root for vlans 7-12, which each of the others as secondary root for redundancy.
Assuming this is all ok, and that the links to the distro will be trunk links, can 3 SVI's be assigned to one port on the left distro switch and also the right distro switch for the access switch connecting to it? Obviously these would match the VLAN ID's and subnets present on each of the access switches and hence be the default gateway for each of these VLANS?

e.g DISTRO 1 VLAN 1 ip address 192.168.1.1
DISTRO 2 VLAN 1 ip address 192.168.1.1

I'm also assuming this would work for any number of access switches to the distro as long as all the SVI's have unique VLAN ID's?

Concerning HSRP, I want to provide backup for connections to the WAN. I've read that the hosts most have the default gateway IP of the virtual IP used in HSRP. How would this work? Would I just Assign the default gateway ip for the distribution switches as this virtual HSRP IP instead?