Advice for non-IT people taking A+

Lara986Lara986 Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm taking 701/702 because there is more study material out there. I bought Meyers All in One, seventh edition book. According to the book it says I would need 250 hours to study. Luckily since I am not working now and am only take one more class for my Associates I have the time. I can study up to 8 hours per day. It'll be slightly grueling but I don't want to waste anymore time. Just going by the hours I could take the test in May but I need really need advice.

Basically I know nothing. I have no experience, I've done basic programming but that doesn't really help here.

Anyway I have Meyers book, Exam Cram and Professor Messer's videos as well as his practice tests and the Comptia site's tests (and the tests in Meyers book). Is there anything else I would need? Do you think 250 hours is enough?

Any other studying advice? I don't have the availability of looking at a real motherboard ( I could take apart my old Laptop but I wonder if that will work)

Thanks!

p.s. should have added this is for WGU...right now I'm finishing my associates and want to transfer I feel WGU will prepare me the more than UW would... at least that's what I think. Also I want to go into software. I am going for the IT Software degree...don't know if A+ Is useful but for now it's useful to get my degree.

Comments

• halaakajanhalaakajan Member Posts: 167
    Do a Google search on Professor Messer he provides good A+ Training videos for free. While reading the books, It will be great if you build a PC from scratch and play with it.
  • IvanjamIvanjam Member Posts: 978 ■■■■□□□□□□
    @Lara986 - the Meyers' 7th Edition is missing the Windows 7 material for the 701/702 exams - he wrote a supplementary book for that: Mike Meyers' Guide to Supporting Windows 7 for CompTIA A+ Certification (Exams 701 & 702) (All-in-One): Michael Meyers: 9780071763929: Amazon.com: Books