GWAPT passed

docricedocrice Member Posts: 1,706 ■■■■■■■■■■
It's been about four months since I signed up for SANS SEC-542, Web App Penetration Testing and Ethical Hacking. My primary motivation for this particular course was due to my long-standing knowledge gap in the web applications area. If I'm to be configuring WAFs, load balancers, and IPS sensors, it would be highly beneficial to understand how applicable these tools are in defending against common web attacks such as XSS, CSRF, various injection techniques, etc..

To start off, I have no development background. I don't write JavaScript, Python, or PHP for a living in any capacity. I knew this would be a hindrance going in, but I have to face the music at some point in my career. I also don't have a web-layer mindset as I'm still very much more used to the packet-level, thinking in terms of addresses, ports, layer 4 headers, etc.. I figured this course would be a good stretch for me. The only thing in my background that would be of any help is some understanding of HTML from building my small websites over a decade ago.

542 follows a pentesting methodology: recon, mapping, discovery, and exploitation. There are lots of tools and lab exercises throughout the class. The instructor (Kevin Johnson) used SamuraiWTF as the basis for the lab work. He's one who created SamuraiWTF after all, so who better to present the material. The OnDemand course I took had lots of his stories, opinions, anecdotes, as well as the usual drinking-from-a-firehose flood of information one would expect from any SANS course. There's a lot to absorb and if you come from a network infrastructure role like I do, it can get pretty overwhelming.