Career change

RobertDeCRobertDeC Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone, I'm new to this site and it seems great so far! I have been considering a career change due to the fact that the business I've been in for the past 15 years is just about belly up. IT and Cisco is something I've been looking into but I'm completely new to the field. If any happens to have some advice as to where to start I would appreciate it greatly! Thanks!

Comments

• N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Live in the CCENT and CCNA forums and you will pick up a lot of information.

I would consider picking up a TCP/IP book and start to learn the high level pieces of networking and move forward from there. You want to establish that base knowledge before moving forward.
  • computer g33kcomputer g33k Member Posts: 149
    I agree with N2IT's advice. Pick up a book on the basics of networking. Once you have a basic understanding move onto ccnet/ccna material.
    There's room for those who want the easy work and those who want the challenges. You will, of course, generally be compensated in proportion to what you shoulder. :smile:
    Currently Studying: Anything & Everything/Cisco Networking Academy For CCNA. (on hold)
  • Ryan82Ryan82 Member Posts: 428
    Are you brand new to IT? You may want to start off with something like A+, then jump into Network+, then CCNA for instance. I will let you decide whether you want to actually take the A+ and Network+ exams, but for sure the material contained within them is essential base knowledge to have so I would at least read through it.

Good luck in your journey
  • the_hutchthe_hutch Banned Posts: 827