CISSP study plan

billyr2009billyr2009 Member Posts: 120
Hi all,
This is actually my first time posting. :) I work in the IS field currently and have been for about a few years now. I am attempting the CISSP, I already have the Security+ and ITIL v3 certs. I know the CISSP will be much tougher. Here is my game plan as far as study materials.

1) Eric Conrad - CISSP Study Guide 2nd edition
2) Shon Harris CISSP AIO Exam Guide 6th edition
3) Eleventh Hour CISSP: Study Guide by Eric Conrad - Syngress
4) CISSP Practice Exams by Shon Harris

My question is, how do you guys feel this will help me? I know on this forum that people say the Shon Harris CISSP AIO is verbose, so should I use options 1 and go over the Shon Harris books on topics I dont feel as strong about? Then once Im done with the Eric Conrad book, I plan to go through the 11th hour book and through practice exams. Do you guys think thats a solid way to go about studying, or is their anything I may need more? Let me know your thoughts on my game plan. :)

Comments

• BundimanBundiman Member Posts: 201
    That is a great list the only thing I would add is once you have covered the material in the books you listed I would follow up with some pratice test from cccure.org.
    Bachelor of Science, IT - Security Emphasis (Start Date: Apr 1st, 2013)
    Bachelor of Science, IT - Security Emphasis (Completed: Apr 25t, 2014)
  • cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    And don't forget the SANS webcast.
  • billyr2009billyr2009 Member Posts: 120
    Thanks for your replies so far guys :) I was wondering, whats the SANS webcast?
    THanks Paul78! Wow this site really is a wealth of knowledge. :) Anyone else have any opinions on my study plan ?
  • paul78paul78 Member Posts: 3,016 ■■■■■■■■■■
    You're welcome. And welcome to TE forums.

I think you have a solid study plan. If you wanted to read the actual ISC2 CBK you may find it interesting.

I used this Q&A book as well: