Subnetting

OmniManOmniMan Member Posts: 78 ■■■□□□□□□□
I'm having difficulty understanding this concept. How much of it is on the exam?

Comments

• jamthatjamthat Member Posts: 304 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I seem to recall only running into very basic problems, but every test is different.

You'll have to understand subnetting if you're planning on moving onto the CCNA afterwards. If so, it might be beneficial to take some extra time now to fully grasp it. You'll feel much more prepared when starting on the Cisco certs!
  • BaackBaack Member Posts: 64 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I would say sub-netting is very important to know
    I studied it like crazy for the net+ exam
    I had maybe a couple questions, that were pretty easy
    I would look into professor Messer videos on line, they are free and may be of help
  • Hatch1921Hatch1921 Member Posts: 257 ■■■■□□□□□□
    http://www.techexams.net/forums/ccna-ccent/38772-subnetting-made-easy.html

Give it a shot.... and yes I agree with Jamthat.... subnetting is very important to understand if you are thinking about pursing your CCNA.

Have a look at Dan's courses on Youtube.... https://www.youtube.com/user/danscourses/videos?flow=grid&view=1

Hope this helps.

Hatch
  • ToomsTooms Member Posts: 36 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Not to be too direct, but subneting is critical to administering networks period whether you get a cert or not. I would definitely recommend you consider it very important. Every network test I've taken has had subneting on it in various forms.

Look around online for an easy way to right down a subnet listing for different sizes. There are lots of tricks to making one on paper (which you can use during a test).