Options

VMWare vs Microsoft

saffyresaffyre Member Posts: 56 ■■□□□□□□□□
Just curious how worthwhile it is to go for VMWare certifications instead of working with Hyper-V this late in the game. I keep seeing battles between friends/forums about which is better to work on. I am not trying to start a fight or anything on this, just a honest question as I am new to the Virtualization realm. I'd like to get into Network Engineering, and it seems the real only requirement for all of the jobs here in town that I am missing (experience-wise) is the Virtualization experience. Is the MCSE enough to claim virtualization experience, or is putting the money down and claiming a VMWare cert a much better option?

My current path for certifications is CCNA > Upgrade to MCSE2012 from MCITP2008, and just curious if I should throw in a bit of studying for the VMWare certifications. Can probably start on it in the next 6 months or so.
WGU Progress: Network Design and Management: started 04/12
Courses transfered: CSV1, WFV1, AGC1, BBC1, CLC1, LAE1, LUT1, QBT1, AXV1, CPV1, INC1, INT1, DFV1, GAC1, HHT1, DHV1, CWV1, QLT1, DEV1, BVC1, IWC1, IWT1 (64 CU) Courses Completed: CRV1, CTV1, CUV1, AHV1, AIV1, BHV1(30 CU)
Courses needed: BOV1, BNC1, TPV1, SBT1, RCT1 (20 CU)
Courses in progress: BIV1 (6 CU)

Comments

• Options
    EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I dont think a cert replaces experience and the MCSE wouldnt replace commercial virtualization experience. I reckon you'd get more bang for your buck with a VMware cert, atleast for now. Hyper-v is here to stay, the product has evolved and rivals vSphere like never before. You wouldnt go wrong with either if your good at them, but like I said - with vSphere you'll get more for your efforts.