router commands

sleemiesleemie Member Posts: 109
Okay, i'm new to fooling around with routers and all the resources I've seen on this site and other places don't really seem to be consistent with a beginning place for learning this stuff. They all throw something different at you and none of them really take you threw the steps first do this, then that then this and so on. I realize there are a lot of differents ways you can go once you log in, but none of them really tell me what I should be learning and nothing really leading you step by step from the basics to the more advanced. Anyways...

I'm connected to a 2800 through hyper terminal and after it finishes booting up it tells you to hit enter to begin, then it prompts you for a user name and password and tells you the default is cisco and cisco and then gives you the command for changing it. I managed to create a new ID and password, but one of the guides I'm looking at mentions the user EXEC mode and priveliged EXEC mode and that when in user exec I should see the router name and a > sign and # for privlidged, but after logging in there are no symbols at all. Just the router name: myrouter I type enable as instructed by the guide and it just returns to the prompt. I then do conf term and then is says yourname(config)# I then try enable again and it says incomplete command. seeing the # sign I guess tells me i'm in privileged exec mode, but I've always gotten that even before I ever tried the enable command. So, the question is....

1. am I really in priv exec mode since the # appears after entering the conf term command? If so, it came that way by default because from the very beginning I've gotten that, which is contradictory to everything i've read.
2. howcome I have no symbol after the prompt?
3. shouldn't I have the # symbol at the prompt if in priv exec mode and not just in config mode?
4. at what point am I supposed to use the enable command? at the prompt or in config mode?