Cable Standards

neolight90neolight90 Member Posts: 57 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi,

It is my first question while I am studying and I hope it's not a stupid one.

Learning about Cat 5E cables and it talks about crimping your own, it says T568A and T568B can I ask what is the difference if any. He says on CBT Nuggets they are both standard and I wanted to know if there was a point to using one or the other.

Thanks
Goals 2013: CCNET [ ] CCNA [ ] CCNP [ ]

Comments

• Asif DaslAsif Dasl Member Posts: 2,116 ■■■■■■■■□□
    TIA/EIA 568B is the standard pin layout. You would use both 568A & 568B when creating a crossover cable, and you would use a crossover cable when linking 2 switches together.

For the exam remember a crossover cable is used to connect like devices and a straight cable is used to link unlike devices like a switch (Layer 2) and a router (Layer 3).

I tend to remember 568B off the top of my head but have to look up 568A! icon_redface.gif
  • elderkaielderkai Member Posts: 279
    The B colorcode is the one that's used the most and standard. Don't ask me why, though.
  • PristonPriston Member Posts: 999 ■■■■□□□□□□
    From my experience in the field most people use T568B over T568A.

I think T568A was designed more for phones since the
    two inner pairs of 568A are wired the same as a two-line phone jack.

A.A.S. in Networking Technologies
    A+, Network+, CCNA
  • XyroXyro Member Posts: 623
    Welcome to the forum.

The only stupid question is the 1 that goes unasked.

Try this:
    What's the Difference Between T568A and T568B?
  • pamccabepamccabe Member Posts: 315 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Asif Dasl wrote: »
    For the exam remember a crossover cable is used to connect like devices and a straight cable is used to link unlike devices like a switch (Layer 2) and a router (Layer 3).