Options

N+ Exam question: is A+ needed?

DeathmageDeathmage Banned Posts: 2,496
Hello,

I'm a IT Manager for a large 800 user company with extensive use of 2008 R2. I normally do System administration work (AD, DHCP, DNS, TS land, network design and switch/router installation, yadda yadda yadda you get the picture...) and the normal (jack-of-all-trade) work load during a usual day. I'm a one-man IT department.

I've been around computers in the aspect of all things related to A+ for like 10+ years however "Networking" is new to me plus "Security" interests me a great deal. I'm curious if I could simple skip A+ and go straight for N+ and Sec+?

I've had my job pay for both of the voucher's for the A+ yet with the re-design of our Moonachie NJ location (Hurricane Sandy wiped it off the map, rebuilt a 400+ user network from scratch including DNS, DHCP and SAN on a brand-new 10Gbit network) I'm just wondering if going for the A+ cert is like way over my skill level? - Bear in mind our Middletown, NY location is our main facility and we have roughly 32 servers at this location in a 1.5 million sq. foot corrugation factory that runs 24/7. I've pretty much been a A+ oriented guy my whole life and I'm now 26. Microsoft based NOS's I've self-taught myself from reading books yet never got certified.

I'm curious if I should go for a MCSA/MCSE cert but that's still up in the air.

What do you guys think? - I mean I've read two A+ books and I know the knowledge blindfolded, is it truly worth it? icon_confused.gif:

Comments

• Options
    PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    First, the A+ exams are fairly straight-forward (and relatively easy).

Second, do you need it? Nope. Few do, except it makes a great start point for many and give a confidence boost for the whole exam track ahead.