Options

Just passed RHCSA, here's the path that worked for me

thegreenlaanternthegreenlaantern Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
Background:
I work as a Linux/UNIX System Admin. November 2012 I looked at the requirements for the RHCSA Exam, I counted roughly 30 items, 8 of them I do in my daily functions. This meant I had to get up to speed on 22 items I wasn't familiar with.

Study Plan:
Bought the Damian Tommasino Cert Guide. Liked the condensed size of the material. Read RHCSA sections twice, taking notes the second time.
Bought the Michael Jang Cert Guide. Liked the Detail of the material, book was thick like Shon Harris CISSP material. Read RHCSA material once, taking notes.
Looked up items from Google or Youtube if I thought the books were unclear or lacking.

Lab Setup:
I bought a Lenevo 64 Bit Laptop for $300, 2 Gig of RAM and 300 Gig harddrive. It came with Windows installed, and I tried to use Virtual Box as suggested by the Damian Tommasino book, but just couldn't get the software to work the way I wanted. The Michael Jang Book was jumping around on setting up the Lab environment and was confusing like many others have mentioned. Ultimately I installed over the Windows O/S with a downloaded RHEL 6 DVD. Set up the Lenevo as a Server with all software options from the DVD installed. When I would practice for the test, I would install a new KVM machine with 750 Gig of memory from the system (if you go too low on the number you cannot install a GUI environment) and 40 Gig of hard drive space reserved. I'd run through the 30 items on the KVM, testing my speed and whether the configuration could work from the LapTop Server side. I would delete the KVM from virt-manager and reinstall the KVM with a new install after I ran through the 30 items and start my practice runs over again.