Course Book to purchase?

PeterHandsPeterHands Member Posts: 83 ■■■□□□□□□□
[FONT=verdana,arial,helvetica][SIZE=-1]Hi all,

Im now studying for my Security+ exam and I have the CBT [SIZE=-1]N[/SIZE]uggets course. However Im also looking to purchase a book with those simulations also.

I hear alot about D.Gibson, but has anyone looked at this:

"CompTIA Security+ Deluxe Study Guide: Exam SY0-301"

Dulaney, Emmett[/SIZE][/FONT]

Thoughts much appreciated.

Many thanks
Peter
ISC2 CISSP, EC-Council CEH, CompTia Security+

Comments

• DarrilDarril Member Posts: 1,588
    Welcome to the forums. I realize you've been lurking for a while but I didn't want to see your first post go unanswered.

I don't have any information on that book so can't help there. However, once you start digging into the objectives, feel free to post any questions about the exam here. There are a lot of helpful people more than willing to give friendly, thoughtful advice.

Good luck.
  • Cisco InfernoCisco Inferno Member Posts: 1,034 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Darril Gibson's book is a great read. Theres a bunch of real world examples that make you think deeply about the topics. I highly recommend it.
    For me right now, it is an easy read that flows, but I do have networking and general IT experience.
    Do you have any light experience or have done your Network+?

Also, with Darril's book, I do not think you need CBT Nuggets. I have them, but I find Michael Shannon too monotone and boring. I used him for my N+ and hated it even though the info was great. Its the older version of Sec+ with a couple new videos to catch you up to the latest exam version.(idk how you feel about it).

Professor Messer is a great and valuable resource. I've used his free videos for my A+ and N+. His videos on each topic are short and sweet. compared to 40mins-1hour of CBT.