Helping a young man with his certification plan

betamanbetaman Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
First of all, nice to meet you guys :) i'm glad to have found this website... I've never seen a resource so much competent in IT certifications (maybe because i'm a newbie).

The young guy i was talking about in the title is me!
I'm a 23 yrs old italian man, currently living in Italy (and planning to move to UK). I've been working in IT since when i was 16, and during these last years i've built up some experience in Server Administration (i've been a Junior Server Admin in a good company here in the country) and as reference consultant and technician for some companies (IT and others) in my region.
I've been developing websites for a long time, and i've been involved in the development of various PHP/mySQL based online RPGs videogames.

Where is the problem? I'm planning to leave Italy soon because i feel like if i was born in the wrong place at the wrong time :D...this is what has convinced me to ask some guidelines in making a certifications plan.
That's because even if I have a good number of very positive experiences of work, i have no certificates and i don't have any degree in IT related matters(well i have one in a completely different subject, to be used as back-up career if a huge EMP fries all the electronics in the world :D).
I'm not complaining about this, but my passion is IT and i wanna exploit it since i really need to start up a new life as soon as possible.
So i'd love to value my experience with something of tangible as a certificate could be.

The question is from where do i start considering that i've really liked working as Sys. Admin (this doesn't mean i don't like Security and Networking...i actually love them too :D)?
I was thinking that since I have no experience in this kind of exams, maybe it could be a good idea to start from some basic certificates.