MCSM - Messaging or Directory Services

jcadarshjcadarsh Banned Posts: 32 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi

I have in all around 5 years of experience with Windows and Linux.

I have the MCSA - Windows 2012.
MCSE - Messaging and the MCSE Server Infrastructure.

I was wondering how the MCSM would change my career. Also if the exams are being conducted in other countries other than the US.

I am also doing my RHCA , have another two papers left on that.

Comments

• ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    MCSM (formerly MCM) is highly exclusive and very difficult, like the CCIE. Unlike the CCIE, though, there aren't a ton of jobs out there that require MCSM or compensate in line with its difficulty. The vast majority of positions for MCSMs out there will take an MCSE or top-level MCITP.

However, there are definitely positions in enterprise consulting firms that will seek out MCMs/MCSMs and will certainly pay them quite well. If you can find such positions, I would say it's guaranteed $120K or more, and the right positions can exceed $200K. Dell, HP, and Microsoft itself have a lot of MCMs and MCSMs.

This is the US. I don't know if there's as large of a market outside the US. I don't know if anyone here can even answer that. My suspicion is that you won't find the effort worth it outside the US. As it is, the mastery-level MS certs are not the well-known, even in the US, and there is essentially no job an experienced AD or Exchange engineer cannot get without MCSM. The only member of these forums who is going after this cert works for Microsoft and didn't even have his MCSE prior to getting the job. MS hired him on Exchange experience alone, and he's only going for it because of his job.

Long story short, I'm not so sure it's the type of cert that's reasonable to pursue independently as a credential to improve your resume. It seems getting a job as an Exchange or AD/Windows consultant and then getting MCSM is the more likely path.
    Working B.S., Computer Science