Equipment for room lab

HELLZxPHADERHELLZxPHADER Member Posts: 74 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone, I'm currently studying ccna2 at Devry along with a few other classes. The ccna stuff seems to be the most interesting to me. There are only 2 classrooms with cisco equipment and I am only enrolled in one Cisco related course, the labs in the classroom only give me enough time to work on weekly assignments and not much more. The simulator software can only do so much, I want more real life experience! I also want to be extra prepared for actual ccna test, I don't want to fail. I plan on spending about 1-1.5k for my home lab. Below is a list of the things that I plan on getting in the next few weeks. A * indicates the item(s) have been ordered already. Any input about other things I am going to need or should get will be helpful, thanks.

c2610 32/8 *
c2611 64/16
c2621 64/16

catalyst 2950 24
catalyst 2950 12

wic 1t x 2 *
wic 2t *
wic-1 dsu-t1 *
db60 to serial cable x 2 *
console rollover cable x 3*

As you can see the setup is going to be 3 router, 2 switch, do I really need a third?

Comments

• samikosamiko Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
    You can do so much with two routers and a switch. I have bought two cisco routers (2621 & 2611) need a serial port on each for back to back connection. I think you could practice all you need for your exam on this setup.
  • mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    As you can see the setup is going to be 3 router, 2 switch, do I really need a third?
    A 3rd switch would let you check out VTP transparent mode and see the changes from the server propagate to the client switch through the transparent mode switch (if you set it up that way). So its really a matter of bang for the buck -- is it worth the bucks to bang that transparent mode information into your brain?