Hobbies, Friends, Family, Exercise, etc

JackaceJackace Member Posts: 335
I'm only finishing up my CCNP studies now, and hope to begin the CCIE studies next year. I have noticed though that maintaining relationships with family and friends, keeping up with hobbies, and exercising regularly gets tough when you spend so much time studying. I know I'm going to have to take it up another notch if I want to get the CCIE. My question for those of you doing it or those that have done it, how did you keep a decent balance in life?

I am only at the CCNP level right now, but I find that I don't do many of the hobbies I once did, I can go weeks/months without seeing friends and family because I just get so caught up in work and studying, and I have gained probably 35 pounds since I started studying for the CCNP. Don't get me wrong I really enjoy networking and it is very interesting to me, but at the same time I want to be able to maintain relationships with those I care about and remain healthy. How have some of you accomplished this balancing act?

Comments

• webgeekwebgeek Member Posts: 495 ■■■■□□□□□□
    It's called multitasking. While I have been stuck in your position before, I've always taken a few days or weeks off just to let the brain relax by seeing movies, playing on Live, going out with friends, or taking my dogs to the park.

Remember Rule #32 (Zombieland) - Enjoy the little things
    BS in IT: Information Assurance and Security (Capella) CISSP, GIAC GSEC, Net+, A+
  • JackaceJackace Member Posts: 335
    I never had trouble with Multitasking in school or during my CCNA studies, but once I started down the CCNP path I found I spent a lot of time researching why things worked the way they worked and it just took a lot of my free time. I can only imagine it will get worse once I dig into the CCIE topics.
  • webgeekwebgeek Member Posts: 495 ■■■■□□□□□□