Help with career decisions

rschecklerrscheckler Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I graduated college with a B.S. in C.S./Networking back in 2008 and since then have been working mainly in Jr. Network Admin roles primarily in MS Server 2003/2008. None of my employers have been big backers or fans of IT certs claiming that they are all a waste of money and time and because of this I never felt the need to pursue any. I now am at a point where I want to accelerate my career and really become attractive to the job market around me. I am currently 26 years old and even though I wish I would have been more aggressive with acquiring IT certifications in the past, I now realize that I cannot afford to lose any more time if I am looking at getting ahead with my career. With taking into consideration the fact that most of my experience has been revolving around Microsoft products, in your opinion what would be the best route I should take to get ahead in the IT field?

All of your thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Given your background, MCSA: Windows Server 2008 would probably not be difficult and would be a good way to validate your existing skills. I would probably start there, if I were you.

Outside of that, you have to think about where you want to go with your career. If a given area or piece of technology interests you, study for the relevant cert. If you are happy with your current direction, then MCSA 2008 --> MCSA 2012 --> MCSE Server Infrastructure is a pretty standard path that will definitely look nice on your resume and help you move up. CCNA or Security+ would be good entry points if you want to branch deeper into networking or security.
    Working B.S., Computer Science
    Complete: 55/120 credits SPAN 201, LIT 100, ETHS 200, AP Lang, MATH 120, WRIT 231, ICS 140, MATH 215, ECON 202, ECON 201, ICS 141, MATH 210, LING 111, ICS 240
    In progress: CLEP US GOV,