My Experience With CompTIA's CASP Exam (Pt. II)!

questiontheknownquestiontheknown Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
All -

First, I apologize due to my previous posting disappearing. Not sure what happened there.

I thought I would post my thoughts and experience with the new CASP exam. There was so little information out there on what to expect and this forum had a few valuable postings that helped me out. Ergo, I figured I would at least return the favor and tell you about my experience.

About me: I've been in the IT industry for about 7 years. I'm in a incident response / risk management position that isn't overly technical but gives me enough knowledge to be able to hold my own. Currently, I hold the standard CompTIA certs (e.g. A+, Net+, Sec+, Server+) and picked up my CISSP last year. I also have a few investigative certs (e.g. CCE, EnCE, ACE). I'm also studying for the CISA that I hope to pass in June. I have a bachelors and masters in an IT related discipline.

Why I took the CASP: I had some 'use it or lose it' money for my education and burned it on the CASP. I fully recognize that this cert won't take me places; however, resume fluff never hurts and I try to get at least 1 - 2 certs per year.

What I did to study: I bought the Sybex CASP book. Generally, I love the Sybex books because they come with a decent test bank and a good book. Same thing with this CASP book; however, you could tell the book was rushed as it was filled with spelling/grammar/formatting errors. Highly recommend the book when you consider there aren't many other alternatives. Also, I bought the ucertify test package. Again, I've used them in the past and ucertify was most helpful. All in all, I studied for two weeks.