BT5 okay to learn linux?

CoolAsAFanCoolAsAFan Member Posts: 239
I will be starting at WGU soon and they have added Linux+ to my program. I plan on using BT5 and CentOS VMs as I study. Is this advisable or should I use Debian or Ubuntu in place of BT5 because I am a beginner?

Any opinions about best distro(s) to use for linux+ are welcome as well, thanks!
IvyTech - AS CINS (Completed: May, 2013)
WGU Indiana - BS IT Security
(Started: August 1st, 2013)

Transferred: AGC1 CDP1 BVC1 CLC1 CVV1 DHV1 DJV1 GAC1 CIC1 CDC1 UBT1 IWC1 IWT1 TCP1 TJP1 TJC1 EBV1 WFV1 EUP1 EUC1 CJC1 UBC1 TBP1
Completed: CUV1 BOV1 DRV1 DSV1 CTV1 CJV1 COV1 CQV1 CNV1 TPV1 MGC1 TXC1 TXP1 BNC1 TYP1 TYC1
Required:
SBT1 RGT1 RIT1

Comments

• JaneDoeJaneDoe Member Posts: 171
    This is fine. Backtrack is based on Ubuntu, so you will learn all of the same things you would learn with Ubuntu plus some. When you're learning the more complex the distro you work with the better because you learn more. Using backtrack won't make it harder for you master the exam objectives, since it still uses the Debian package manager. Since you want to try this you must be curious and interested in learning Linux for more than just the exam. Experimenting with Linux more than is required can only help you on the exam.
  • CoolAsAFanCoolAsAFan Member Posts: 239
    @ JaneDoe

Thank you for your reply! I was hoping to hear pretty much exactly what you said. I will eventually need to learn how to use BT5 and the tools within so I figure why not get familiar with it first as I learn linux.

As for the package managers (deb vs rpm), do you guys think they are equally covered in the newest Linux+ exams? Or should I concentrate on one more so than the other?

Thanks in advance!

Transferred: AGC1 CDP1 BVC1 CLC1 CVV1 DHV1 DJV1 GAC1 CIC1 CDC1 UBT1 IWC1 IWT1 TCP1 TJP1 TJC1 EBV1 WFV1 EUP1 EUC1 CJC1 UBC1 TBP1
    Completed: CUV1 BOV1 DRV1 DSV1 CTV1 CJV1 COV1 CQV1 CNV1 TPV1 MGC1 TXC1 TXP1 BNC1 TYP1 TYC1
    Required:
    SBT1 RGT1 RIT1