Looking for Career Advice

Satcom_GuruSatcom_Guru Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Goodafternoon everyone,

I've been watching these forums for a while lately, a little over a year for some advice here and there with career progression. I passed and received my Security+ in March 2012 while in Afghanistan and am currently contemplating what my next move should be towards a career in the IT/Satcom field. I've been working in the Army as a 25S7D Satellite Communications Operator and Maintainer since 2009. I've been told that the contracted Civilian jobs overseas are a really great way to go with progression and money making. As of now I am studying on my CCNA as a good founding base for my Post-Military career. I guess I'm on here to get an idea with what I could possibly get into working with what I do in the military. I currently work a great deal with FDMA/TDMA Transmissions, AES Router, Cisco Unified Call Manager, Cisco Switches and routers, CAT-5 making, and Optical Fiber making and tipping. The only Certificates I have would be my Military Sat-Com Certificate, Basic Routers/Switches, Advanced Routers/Switches, and my Security+. I'm heading overseas to Kuwait in September and they have a Pearson Vue Testing site in which I shall be testing for my CCNA there. If there is any advice anyone could offer me that would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time. I'm new here so be easy :)

Comments

• geccogecco Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I think you're on the right path SatcomGuru. I think you're asking what youre next move could/should be? My question to you back would be 'what do you like?' Routing and switching can assist with a network technican or installer work...there are a ton of defense contractors always looking for knowledgeabel folsk to do remote installs and/or config bench work. In addition, field technicians are a valubale and/or IT helpdesk staff who understand Layer 1-4 troubleshooting. I hope this helps :)