Options

No voice ports?

ben1980ben1980 Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Pls bear with me I'm new to voice and trying to set-up a home lab,

After going through the CCNA Voice OCG for a couple of weeks I didn't like the way it briefly touched on subjects with-out giving a real indepth understanding that I wanted, so I've decided to study the CCNP Voice exams starting with CVoice which paints a much better picture. I have 6 years experience and have CCNP r/s

Hope to be done in about a year, then will take the CCNA Voice exam after completing all 5 CCNP V exams.

this is my lab, would you recommend anything else for this track?

i have following equipment

4x 2801
1x 2811
2x 2620xm
2x 3560 poe

several 7960's, 7940's, analogue phones

several HWIC'S, 2 x VIC2-2FXS cards, 1 x VIC3-4FXS/DID, 1 x VWIC-2MFT-E1, 2 x VWIC-1MFT-E1 So I'm trying to put together a lab but have stumbled on a problem. When I install VIC3-4FXS/DID into the 2801's the card is recognised in show inventory and show version, but not in show voice port summary, can anyone explain this pls?

without the VIC3-4FXS/DID installed i get this output, when I install it I still get this output.

How can I have voice ports on the summary below when I power up without it fitted or any other voice ports fitted?

Router#sho voice port summary IN OUT
PORT CH SIG-TYPE ADMIN OPER STATUS STATUS EC
=============== == ============ ===== ==== ======== ======== ==
50/0/1 1 efxs up up on-hook idle y
50/0/1 2 efxs up up on-hook idle y
50/0/2 1 efxs up up on-hook idle y

PWR FAILOVER PORT PSTN FAILOVER PORT

When I fit the card into the slot then power it up this is what I get..

Router#sho version
Cisco IOS Software, 2801 Software (C2801-ADVENTERPRISEK9-M), Version 15.1(4)M4, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)
Technical Support: Support and Documentation - Cisco Systems
Copyright (c) 1986-2012 by Cisco Systems, Inc.
Compiled Tue 20-Mar-12 18:33 by prod_rel_team

Cisco 2801 (revision 6.0) with 360448K/32768K bytes of memory.