SSCP - Should I?

sthompson86sthompson86 Member Posts: 370
Ok, here is the run down...

I am currently studying for CCNA:Security. I really like Cisco, but I am feeling burned out and unsure about continuing on with CCNA:SEC. I am burning out on CCNA:SEC due to feeling like I do not have enough resources. I cant really put a finger on what I am considering resources, but when I did CCNA there was loads of resources. With CCNA:SEC I am rigging up labs in GNS3. I can get GNS3 to work, but it can be aggravating especially with some of the firewall setups. I am just tired of rigging these labs together point for point in the book. Anybody can follow directions.. what I miss is all these Packet Tracer labs that were broke, and I had to solve in my CCNA studies. There is stuff like that all over the web, but not so much for CCNA:SEC.

I guess with CCNA:Sec I just feel like I am in a constant state of unpreparedness due to not having all the things available to me like with CCNA, and I am not one to drop money on an exam without knowing without a shadow of a doubt I am going to pass. Not feeling that way with Sec.

Another note - I am not working with Cisco devices in my daily job so that leads me to want to hold off. If Cisco devices were part of my routine I would most likely not be writing all this.

So all the above leads to where I am now considering SSCP. Call me lazy, but I am tired of labs, and having to rig up old eBay bought Cisco devices for hours and I am tired of GNS3 crashing my computer... =)

From what I can tell it looks like SSCP does not have labs, and it looks like there is plenty of online resources. I just miss being able to buy the exam book - read the book - take some practice test ( get some confidence ) and pass the exam.

SSCP may not be right for me, but it seems like it may be. Advice is appreciate.

Thanks - ST
Currently Reading: Again to Carthage - CCNA/Security

Comments

• sthompson86sthompson86 Member Posts: 370