Options

Info please

TechNineTechNine Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Greetings everyone, i'm new to this site. Seems like a lot of knowledgeable ppl here. Hope we can pick brains and get info.

About me, i graduated from a tech/business school with a bachelors of applied science in networking (which is crap but i wont go into it here). Shortly after i went into business with my parents. thats over and now im restarting my IT career.

i just began as a support tech for a call center. poor pay but important thing is my foot in the door and experience.

My plans for the future is getting certs and moving on to network admin? engineering? securtiy?

Im planning on setting up a home lab to practice and self learn and I have some questions

1. what equipment should i purchase ie. routers, switches, workstations
2. where to purhcase
3. what order of certs should i attempt
4. any tips or suggestions would be appreciated

Comments

• Options
    fadeonefadeone Inactive Imported Users Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
    1. what equipment should i purchase ie. routers, switches, workstations

Depends what you want to do. If you are going to start with A+ all you need is a spare old PC to practice with and a good A+ book. If your going to do CCNA and beyond it gets expensive, but you can always rent. If you want to do MCSE I would recommend 3 PC's to practice Active Directory and other server stuff on.
    e2. where to purhcase

I'd say eBay, but I really don't know.
    3. what order of certs should i attempt

I would say A+ and Network+ for a foundation, then move onto either MCSE or CCNA depending on whether you want to administer windows server and administer Cisco routers, switches etc.
    4. any tips or suggestions would be appreciated

Go to monster.com or any other job site and look up jobs and their requirements so you know what you will need to achieve.

BTW, good choice finding that help desk job, experience is a must to get anywhere.

Good luck :D
  • Options