Options

What cert next? Also some tough career questions...kind of DC specific as well.

ukiltmybruthaukiltmybrutha Member Posts: 74 ■■■□□□□□□□
Well I am in the DC area and I work as a government contractor which is a whole different ball game from most of the country and world.

I hold my MCSE 2012, MCITP-EDA, Sec+, Network+, and A+.

I work as a Windows Systems Engineer. Employer will pay for the Microsoft track and the Cisco Track but that seems to be it until I am here for a year.

I am kind of tired of the Microsoft track because Prometric testing centers are 60 miles away from me but Vue centers are very close to me.

15 years in IT and I have hated just about every minute from Desktop Support, Desktop Engineering, and now working with Servers. My fault for picking a career path that I didn't like? Sure, no problem with that. No problem with getting into a profession that pays the bills either.

It took me every minute of 15 years to realize that I want to do one of a few things...become a "legal" hacker, penetration tester, or forensics person but my need to pay bills comes first. I think that I'd also like to try my hand at management even if it is managing entry level folks at a helpdesk.

Here are some goals:

1) Pick certifications that continue to increase my job security.

2) Pick certifications that can secure my pay rate. (Pay is important to me, I have some unpleasant debts that will last me a very long time).

3) Pick certifications that might allow me to transition into one of the above fields without taking a large pay cut.

4) Pick certifications that will tend to get me paid as much possible as compensation for doing what I hate. (I enjoy non-IT hobbies in my free time so that helps).

The Cisco certifications are free...I guess that I should just pursue those before a year has elapsed to assist with goals 1&2.