Entering IT Field

AddixtionAddixtion Member Posts: 26 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I had a few concerns about entering the IT Field. First off, I have a bachelors in Marketing and am currently employed in the field. Some time ago I saw a job for Business Intelligence which I thought was pretty cool, but was not able to go for it due to lack of technology experience. As I explored the IT Field, I found it very fascinating and took on a liking for databases. I am currently finishing up my A+ cert and will most likely go on to Network+. Will my BA in Marketing be sufficient to meet BA needs and my certs will be able to land a job? I plan on getting a job in help desk after my Network+ in order to build experience.

Comments

• bhankins000bhankins000 Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Starting off with you A+/Network+ is a good start and the helpdesk experience will really get you into the IT field. It's where I also started. You will want to look into the Microsoft certifications in the database area. SQL is really popular. In regards to your degree not being in the IT area wont necessarily hurt you. Most IT places would like the degree to be in an IT discipline but there are always corporations out there who wouldnt mind having someone who knows that side of business and therefore knows more about the business needs. I would say your on the right track! Just dont become stagnant in the helpdesk area. After six months to a year you can move into desktop support or even junior system/server administration roles. I spent a year and half as a helpdesk tech for 2 different companies. That was long enough! Good luck!
  • AddixtionAddixtion Member Posts: 26 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thank you very much for your input! It is a weight lifted off my shoulders. Well I know what I have to do now, and I am glad that I found this great forum/community to help me along the way.
  • Master Of PuppetsMaster Of Puppets Member Posts: 1,210