Taking the leap into IT

robp12robp12 Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

Just figured I would introduce myself to the forums. I'm a 23 year old guy from the Washington DC area and working towards my start in information technology. Well actually, I'm somewhat in the information technology sector now as a Technical Recruiter (I work for a competitor of TEKSystems, Robert Half, etc). I graduated from college in May 2012 with a BS in Marketing and I really do enjoy working as an IT recruiter, but working with so many tech professionals in DC has really sparked my interest in becoming one of them (you)!

So I decided to start making some big moves. I applied for a Masters of Science degree at Northwestern University and was accepted into their Information Systems program. I actually just finished my first class, Telecommunications Networking with an A. I'm taking SQL Database class next semester and Java programming following that (I'm taking classes while working full-time as a recruiter). After I finish my core classes, I'm going to work towards my concentration in Information Security and Networks.

After a good deal of thought and studying, I've decided to really make some headway towards a career in IT in the future. I just purchased Lammle's CCNA Study book last night and started reading. I'm hoping to complete the CCENT portion of the CCNA by September 1st and move along from there. Hopefully, it'll be the first step into a slow but well-thought out approach to becoming a network engineer.

Well, I just figured I'd introduce myself to the forums and if anyone has some advice to my journey, I'd love to hear it! Thanks and have a great night.
Currently Studying:
Northwestern University - Masters of Science, Information Systems GPA 4.0
CCNA certification

Completed: Elon University - BSBA, Marketing May 2012

Comments

• Daniel333Daniel333 Member Posts: 2,077 ■■■■■■□□□□