Need some advice on which cert to get first.

pianoman35pianoman35 Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Everyone,

First of all, I'm Chris. I graduated college with a Bachelor of Technology (B.T) in Network Administration and an A.A.S in Computer Information Systems, but before I graduated, I needed to find an internship ASAP in order to get the credits so I ended up working in web development for 3 years as my first job right out of college and is what I'm doing right now. I'd really like to move up in my career and go back to my college roots because I find that System/Network Administration is still what I'd really like to do. Data centers have always fascinated me as well. The only problem is, I have no certifications and it seems kind of hard to find a job without any work experience in the field. It seems like the certifications help a lot and I'd like some advice on which certification to get first and which order I should get them. I was thinking of going for the A+ first and then the Network + or CCNA. Any help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Chris

Comments

• SharkDiverSharkDiver Member Posts: 844
    The path alot of people take is the A+, then Net+, then CCENT and CCNA. (You can just do CCNA in one exam or take the CCENT and CCNA exams separately (ICND1 & ICND2))

I, personally, would skip the A+ and go for the Net+ and then go on to CCNA. The A+ has a lot a material to remember, and unless you want to fix PCs, you may never need the information again. I found some of the A+ to be purely trivial. (Example - How many pins are on a Pentium 4 chip?)

Good luck to you in whatever you choose.
  • Concerned WaterConcerned Water Member Posts: 338 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I would skip Net+ and go directly for CCENT or CCNA.
    :study:Reading: CCNP Route FLG, Routing TCP/IP Vol. 1
    SWITCH [x] ROUTE [ ] TSHOOT [ ] VCP6-NV [ ]
  • goldenlightgoldenlight Member Posts: 378 ■■□□□□□□□□
    ONly Get A+ if you want to repair computers .