Routers For CCNP ?

william_yeowilliam_yeo Member Posts: 63 ■■□□□□□□□□
hi guyz, i'm a CCNP student here... i was wondering, is there a "MUST" for me to buy routers to practice ?? If yes, how many routers i need and wat model is that ? How much it cost ? wat IOS needed ?

Thanks in advance for ur respond ! :D

Comments

• romainromain Member Posts: 222
  • mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    i was wondering, is there a "MUST" for me to buy routers to practice ?? If yes, how many routers i need and wat model is that ? How much it cost ? wat IOS needed ?
    Did you do hands on work for your CCNA? Are you working with routers and switches at work everyday? Are you working as a CCNA now -- doing more than creating TPS reports in Excel and Word?

It's hard to really learn some of the stuff if you don't have the hands on experience and practice. But Yes -- you can do it without a home lab and even without any hands on work. The CCNP would still give you an advantage competing with CCNAs for jobs -- unless you were competing with experienced CCNAs -- then they might beat you out for the job, depending on you CCNA experience.

You can take notes from books and memorize command sequences -- and study sample copies of command output in books -- and if you study really hard -- you could pass the exams.

Simulators (when they work) can take you maybe 70% of the way. eLabs are better than nothing -- but most of them seem to prompt you for the next step to take and tell you what to do when you type something wrong -- so some people read and follow the instructions but don't actually learn anything.

You can always rent rack time -- but that can get expensive if you don't have a "plan" -- you can waste time online. You also usually have to book the time in advance -- so if work/life interfered with your study plan -- you may have an online slot and nothing to work on. There also could be free rack access -- check out Wildfire's signature line in one of his posts).