Options

Where should I start

mr.robomr.robo Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Morning everyone, since this is my first post it would be bad not to give a introduction of myself. I graduated high school about one year ago and with the help of CLEP credits I am currently a junior in college studying Police Science. I wanted to get into information security and I need your advice. I want to know if the Security+ could be done as the first exam ever taken if not where should I start if I wanted to go into the info sec. I also wanted to know if (CBT or TrainSignal) is better between the two while also using Gibson's 301 book to reference it. I am not a total beginner when it comes to computers, I have built computers and worked on robotics(High School level) but I don't know where that info would add in (No experience in networks). Thanks for any information. (Also I know that some certs need full time experience and I do not have anything of that nature). In addition does one take the CHFI first then the CEH or is it the other way around?

- Mr.Robo or Tony

(I am also sorry if this is a redundant question that members of this forum have to go though ever so often and sorry for any spelling issues.)

Comments

• Options
    Master Of PuppetsMaster Of Puppets Member Posts: 1,210
    Sec+ does not have any prerequisites. It is recommended that you have 2 years of experience but I don't think anyone listens to that specific recommendation :D If you don't know anything about networks then I think it is necessary to start with N+. Get a job, learn more. You can't do security if you don't know how things work. Learn the basics first and go for security after that. Leave CEH and CHFI for later.

Also, why do you want to do security and what do you think you will be doing?