Options

Education path?

twofingeredtwofingered Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am relatively new to the IT field, with about two years of Windows support experience, and about a year of schooling. I have a "dream job" that I wish to reach, and I would like to study some things to prepare me for that job, as well as expand my skill set. The requirements for that job are:
- Basic understanding of some of the following protocols and applications:
- NFS, the UNIX remote file sharing protocol
- CIFS, the Windows NT remote file sharing protocol
- TCP/IP
- Networking
- RAID
- Microsoft Exchange and/or Veritas software.
- Strong aptitude for learning new technologies and understanding how to utilize them in a customer facing environment.
- Ability to follow standard engineering principles and practices.
- Creative approach to problem solving.
- Must have at least 1 or more areas of expertise such as: backup and recovery, Exchange DR, Veritas, Lotus Notes, Linux, AIX, or networking; including at least 2 years of experience working in that particular specialty.

Assuming I have no certifications, is there a particular certification path I could follow? I was going to start with Network+ to show a basic understanding of it, but from there, I was a bit confused. Is there a cert that covers RAID, NFS, CIFS, etc?

Comments

• Options
    instant000instant000 Member Posts: 1,745
    I am relatively new to the IT field, with about two years of Windows support experience, and about a year of schooling. I have a "dream job" that I wish to reach, and I would like to study some things to prepare me for that job, as well as expand my skill set. The requirements for that job are:

Assuming I have no certifications, is there a particular certification path I could follow? I was going to start with Network+ to show a basic understanding of it, but from there, I was a bit confused. Is there a cert that covers RAID, NFS, CIFS, etc?

Try the CompTIA Storage +: