sscp and sec+ AND TICSA

ja5983ja5983 Member Posts: 129
hey guys.

i know this might have been asked before..but anyway...let me ask again

I have sec+ and TICSA and want to get my SSCP. Is there a huge difference in studying between the 3? I know TICSA was very much like SEC+ but a slight bit more studying involved. What about hte SSCP VS TICSA or SSCP VS SEC+?
Josh
A+, Network+, Server+, Security+, TICSA, CCNA, MCSA, AS Network Engineering

Comments

• JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    I have the Security+ (from 2003), and I'm studying for both the TICSA and SSCP right now. From what I've seen of practice exams and training materials, the TICSA is closer a "Security++" exam, while the SSCP is closer to a "junior CISSP." TICSA covers more information security subject matter than the SSCP, but the SSCP will cover its own seven domains of the (ISC)**2 CBK much more deeply than the TICSA will cover its own EBK.

What is your impression of the differences between the Security+ and the TICSA? The info in the Que book is not very deep at all. I'm assuming the TICSA exam is a lot harder than the PreLogic practice tests included in the book.
  • ja5983ja5983 Member Posts: 129
    What is your impression of the differences between the Security+ and the TICSA? The info in the Que book is not very deep at all. I'm assuming the TICSA exam is a lot harder than the PreLogic practice tests included in the book.

I have two impressions of the TICSA: the knowledge it gives you/how hard it is and its worth.